Things I learned from my brother, Steven Sochinski

Today is my brothers 30th birthday.  I should be getting ready for a big party.  Wrapping some silly gag gift and making a beer run.  I should be enjoying the day, celebrating.  But I’m not.  May 19th is no longer a day of celebration for my family.  In one instant that changed.  I have tried to go the way of celebrating his life, instead of his birth.  I have tried to be happy for the time I did have with him,  but I am selfish and that is not good enough.  I have tried to laugh over memories past,  but I just want more memories.  I have tried to see pieces of him in my children, but I would rather he had a chance to see them himself.

So for Steven’s birthday today I have decided to share the lessons I have learned from him.  Some will make you laugh, and some may make you cry.

  • Never take advantage of what you have.
  • Be happy with who you are.
  • Have a good time, all the time.
  • Don’t worry about what other people think of you.
  • Help others when you can.
  • Don’t drink it if you don’t know what is in it. (what is in a live wire?)
  • Never lend a blender to your brother to make beer sours. (I still can’t get mine clean.)
  • A  lighter + wd40+ worms = a lot of time spent in your room.
  • Do what you want to do.
  • One person can make a difference.
  • Never pass up a chance to let the people you care about know how much you care.

I am sure there are hundreds more.  But who has that kind of time on the computer?  I would rather be playing with my kids.   So as you remember Steven today, think of all the gifts he gave us all.  Hug your children.  Call your siblings.  And tell your parents how much you love them.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Momma D said,

    I know we already instant messaged about this on his birthday, but I want to let you know how hard I laughed when we talked about Steven telling Maddy where to hide the keys. Love to you and your family (this means you to Momma Sochinski when you read this!) and know that Steven still reminds me to treasure my nows and not wait for laters!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

