What do I say?

This week was a big week for Abby.  She had her dance recital on Saturday and on Wednesday she graduated from pre k.  Some people may not think that a pre k graduation is an occasion.  But to a 5 year old it is the biggest thing that has ever happened in their life.  Abigail spent so much time practicing for this.  She and her classmates practiced almost ever day at school, and every afternoon she would practice the songs when she got home from school.  By the time the morning of her big day came she could not even sleep.  She was so excited she was out of bed before 5am.  (I know this because I was also unable to sleep that morning.)

Abigail had a wonderful day. Her graduation from pre k was so special.  She had her own little cheering section sitting in the row right behind her.  My dad could not come because of work but you better believe that he was here that night to hear all about it.

She was expecting one more person to be sitting in her cheering section.  The night before he had asked what time the graduation was.  She heard him ask and expected him to come.  I heard him ask and thought “why the fuck did he ask, we all know he is not going to come”.

She asked me about it last night. We were working hard on all the really cool fathers day cards my kids  are making for all the special men  they have in their lives.  I had no idea what to say.  I changed the subject and thought to myself, thank  God we see him less than 10 times a year because unless the kids see him they don’t even think about the birthdays, dance recitals, and pre k graduations he was not around for.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Grandma said,

    Abby..and Maddy and Jake..have so many people who love them.
    Her parents and other significant people were there….sometimes some kids own parents don’t go to events!!

    I for one…thought it was an awesome day..and was glad to be there..counting my blessings

    i still remember Katie’s kindergarten screening..she was the only kid to get the math part perfect the principal told me…I saw him last night..told him she is now teaching calculus! the point of my story is this: to me, these “little” things are important

    tell her the person who didn’t come must have had an emergency

  2. 2

    Grandma said,

    PS

    and…not only is it their loss if they do not show up

    THEY will NOT get to sit on “The Couch” with me and Bob and Emma and Pop!!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

